There are two really important things in running technique: running form and cadence. Form is difficult to track with an app, but cadence is easier. Cadence in running means how many steps you take a minute - an optimal cadence you should aim for is about 180 steps a minute (which is quite a lot for a beginner runner at least). 

App stores are filled with different GPS tracking apps. Many of them also show you average cadence during your run. However, just tracking the average isn't enough, because often you walk a bit at the beginning and at the end of your run, and this affects the average cadence. 

RunSafe is an interesting app with exact information about you running cadence and impact of your running. It is easy to track your cadence during the run and also check the impact to prevent injuries. 
With RunSafe you get exact steps, cadence and impact per minute. RunSafe also has a metronome you can use during the training to make sure you run with correct cadence. It shows the results in a clear format:
Of course the big question is does this help? Ok, it is interesting to know your cadence, but so what? Well, the thing here is same as with the other tracking: once you start to track things and get information how you are really doing, it is easier to improve things

I have always thought that I run with good cadence. However, the result from my first test run was that my average cadence is 154 steps / minute. Of course average doesn't tell everything since I walked a bit during the test, but if I look at the cadences during differnt minutes of the run, most of my running is between 130 - 160 steps a minute. Too low. 

After this on my next run I started to concentrate on keeping high enough cadence. The results were quite interesting:
As a result my average cadence climbed up to 181 steps to minute, and I was able to keep a cadence over 180 steps / minute most of my run. Great improvement. 

Summary: if you want to know your running cadence, track it and improve it, here is the app for you. I highly recommend. I keep it open with the same time with a GPS tracker (my favorite is Endomondo) so I also get speed, route etc. data from other app. 
9/17/2016 11:43:28 pm

Many of them also show you average cadence during your run. However, just tracking the average isn't enough, because often you walk a bit at the beginning and at the end of your run, and this affects the average cadence.

Reply



Leave a Reply.