I have used my old heart rate monitor, Suunto t4c, for years. And I have been very happy with it. But now it was time to upgrade, and the logical choice was Suunto Ambit2 S. After a one week, this is what it feels like. 
Starting to use Ambit was easy. It came in a nice package, battery was loaded and the watch was ready to be used. 
The first step when starting to use Ambit2 S was to sync it with my existing Movescount account. I had some problems here at the beginning: the sync program didn't recognize the watch. The solution was that I needed to download a new sync program and install it. Seems that Suunto has different sync programs for different heart rate monitors. But after installing the new sync program everything started working - my settings etc. were downloaded automatically from Movescount to the watch, firmware was updated and the watch was ready to be used. 
After using Suunto Ambit2 S for a week, here are my first impressions:
  • In general, the watch feels great. If you have used Suunto products before, you can immediately use this without reading the instructions. 
  • Different sports are really easy to select. Mostly I have used the watch with running so far. GPS works great, the data which is downloaded to Movescount is really detailed and provides a lot of useful information. 
  • Possibility to customize sports and information shown with different sports is a really great feature that I love.
  • I have had problems with swimming in a swimming pool: Ambit2 is supposed to calculate the distance you have swam, but at least for me it has been highly inaccurate: the distance Ambit2 shows has been 40-50% more than the actual distance I have swam. I probably need to contact Suunto support about this. 
  • Also one thing I would like to improve is how apps are installed to the watch. The instructions on how to actually get the apps to your watch are really poor. At least I couldn't do it with Suunto's instructions, but had to find a third party step by step guide on how this is done. 


But in general I have been really happy Suunto Ambit2 S. More experiences to come, when I have had a chance to use it a bit more. 



Leave a Reply.