Counting steps you take a day seems to be a hit nowadays. Of course there has been step counters for ages, but today just about any new fitness device has a step counter. I have never understood why.

Step counting is not a new thing. I bought a great step counter, the best you can find (Omron), already about 10 years ago. And used it only for a couple of weeks. If you look at new products at the moment, every new product has a step counter: Jawbone, Fitbit, Samsung smart phones, etc. I am pretty sure that when Apple finally releases their iWatch, it will have a step counter. But who needs it?

Ok, I understand that if you are a couch potato who never does any exercise, then step counter might be useful. It tells you you are not exercising enough. But if you already do some exercise, then step counter tells you nothing. For one, it only tracks two sports (walking and running), but not for example biking, swimming, gym etc. And just the number of steps don't tell you anything about speed, distance and many other things you want to track in sports. 

What I would like to see in these future devices are something like foot pods in heart rate monitors. They have a much more better tracking with speed, distance, cadences and many other things. So when these different tracking devices implement something like that in them, I am ready to buy them. 

So, no thumps up from me for step counting. But if you find step counting useful, please tell me. I am always open for other opinions :)



Leave a Reply.