I don't have much difficulties to find motivation for training. However, sometimes running or cycling training I do could be a little bit longer. For example, on week days I might run 30-45 minutes, but it would be better to run about 60 minutes. 

I couple of weeks ago I received an invitation from a friend to a game called Ingress developed by Google. This has been a great boost to my training. The idea of the game is that you run (or bike or drive a car or whatever) around the city collecting things, attacking the enemy and so on. The game is played with your mobile phone and happens in real time, in real space. So if you want to for example attack enemy at the local train station, you need to physically goto the train station. You can't play the game from your home. 

At first I wasn't that excited about the idea of the game (I don't play a lot of games in general), but this game is  quite addictive. Here are a few screenshots:
As a result of starting to play this game I want to get out and go running (and playing) every day. It is really easy to stay out running for at least an hour (yesterday I was running and playing for 2.5 hours). And it keeps training interesting since you can (and must) go to new places and discover new things.

So if you ever have trouble finding motivation for training, give Ingress a try. And remember, join Resistance :)



Leave a Reply.