I have been quite proud about the fact that I eat healthy food which is good for training and getting to better shape. Since I started tracking what I eat with MyFitnesspal, results have however been quite surprising. 

I moved data from MyFitnessPal to Excel after a week of tracking. The tracking gives quite good information about carbohydrates, proteins and fat, but here is a simple chart about just the amount of calories:
Nothing really surprising here. Or maybe the fact that the amount of what I eat seems to vary a lot depending on the day. I would have guessed the difference between different days would have been a lot smaller. 

Next I combined data from my heart rate monitor. This was a bit tricky, because it is a bit difficult to get the data from Suunto's Movescount service to the right format. But after playing with Excel for a while I got the data to good format. When I combined my burned calories to what I have eaten, the results were a bit surprising:
The result was that I burn quite a lot of more calories than I eat. The difference in a week was about 2500 calories, which is quite lot. Of course this would be good news, if I wanted to lose weight, but not that good new if I want to improve my fitness and my marathon and triathlon results. Your muscles won't grow if they won't get the nutrition they need. 

So, the next goal for me is simply to eat a bit more of healthy food. Interesting to see what it does to my sports results. 



Leave a Reply.